Executive Sustainability Council

Role & Purpose of the ESC. The Executive Sustainability Council was established in 2016 to ensure achievement of the system’s sustainability goals. Roles are outlined below. 

  • Set sustainability-related vision and goals
  • Allocate the resources (financial and staff time) necessary to achieve campus sustainability goals
  • Strategize the effective communication of the importance and impact of sustainability within and outside of the organization 
  • Determine and enact policy changes that lead toward achievement of campus sustainability goals
  • Assist in brainstorming strategies, determining timing for implementation of resource-intensive strategies, and coordinating working groups to implement resource-intensive strategies
  • Appropriately connect operationally-focused sustainability efforts with academic and patient-focused activities of the organization
  • Ultimately accountable for organizational progress towards the goals

Current Members of the ESC [Updated August 2021]

  • Jennifer Anderson, Clinic Manager | Nebraska Medicine
  • *Jen Bartholomew, Vice President, Associate Vice Chancellor, Facilities | Nebraska Medicine | UNMC 
  • Kelly Betts, Assistant Dean & Professor | UNMC
  • Alison Bobal, Associate Professor, McGoogan Health Sciences Library | UNMC 
  • Molly Cornelius, Student | UNMC 
  • Dr. Alison Freifeld, Professor, Department of Internal Medicine | Nebraska Medicine 
  • *Dr. Ali Khan, Dean of the College of Public Health & Professor | UNMC
  • Brian Lancaster, Vice President, Information Technology | Nebraska Medicine 
  • *Julie Lazure, Vice President, Operations | Nebraska Medicine 
  • Tom Macy, Vice President, Operations | Nebraska Medicine 
  • Matt Pospisil, Vice President, Operations | Nebraska Medicine 
  • Rachel Schmidt, Student | UNMC
  • Brian Schram, Director, Clinical and Support Services | Nebraska Medicine 
  • Julie Sommer, Research Facilities Planner II | UNMC
  • Frank Venuto, Chief Human Capital Officer | Nebraska Medicine 

* Reflects 2021-2022 ESC Chairs